Thursday, May 28, 2009

Second Session Celebrates a Variety of Successes

The second session of the 81st Kansas FFA Convention recognized several members and chapters for their hard work, dedication and success. Areas such as the Leadership Information Test, the Kansas Association of Agricultural Educators Essay Contest, and the Agri-Entrepreneurship Award were all celebrated.

The National FFA Organization is rich with history and traditions that students have not only memorized, but have taken to heart for decades. The FFA Leadership Information Test quizzes members on their knowledge about the past and present workings of the FFA.

The top ten individuals in ranking order are:
1-Logan Britton of the Labette County FFA
2-Kurt Lockwood of te Caney FFA
3-Andrew Strasburg of the Fredonia FFA
4-Zoey Zeigler of the Hill City FFA
5-Garrett Lister of the Marysville FFA
6-Austin Price of the Girard FFA
7-Brock Burick of the Girard FFA
8-Kelci Newkirk of the Girard FFA
9-Jordan Bell of the Hill City FFA
10-Brandon Callaway of the Girard FFA

The top five teams in ranking order are:
1-Girard FFA Chapter
2-Hill City FFA Chapter
3-Riverton FFA Chapter
4-Doniphan West FFA Chapter
5-South Barber FFA Chapter

"How does Agricultural Education meet the needs of the millennial generation?" This is the question students were asked to respond to when entering the Kansas Association of Agricultural Educators Essay Contest (KAAE). Students from across the state punched out up to 500 words to express their opinions. Winners were awarded with a cash prize.

Finalists in ranking order are:
1-Zach Langford of the Buhler FFA Chapter, $40 award
2-Katelyn Colby of the Spring Hill FFA Chapter, $25 award
3-Ashley Meek of the Mission Valley FFA Chapter, $25 award

The Agri-Entrepreneurship Award Program is designed to increase the amount of entrepreneurship being taught in local agriculture programs across the country. The program is a joint activity of the National FFA Organization and the U.S. Department of Education. This year's recipient of the award is Grace Bokelman of the Washington County FFA Chapter.

Congratulations to all of the winners!

No comments:

Post a Comment