Thursday, May 31, 2012

Kansas FFA proficiency awards

Students excelling in their Supervised Agricultural Experience programs were recognized with State Proficiency Awards during the second session of the Kansas FFA convention on Thursday. Winners are as follows:

Agricultural Communications: Brandon Keller, Hiawatha

Sponsored by Kansas Farmer Magazine (State) and Keystone Steel & Wire Company – Red Brand (National)

Agricultural Education
: Krista Sudbeck, Hiawatha

Sponsored by Larry Gossen Family (State) and The James F. Lincoln Arc Welding Foundation (National)

Agricultural Mechanics Design and Fabrication: Cory Fedor, Paola

Sponsored by Abilene Machine (State)

Agricultural Mechanics Repair and Maintenance – Placement: Cody March, Labette County
Sponsored by Heritage Tractor, Inc. (State) and
 Tractor Supply Company and HOBART Welding Products (National)

Agricultural Processing: Jacob Yingst, Holton

Sponsored by Santa Fe Trail Meats (State) and CHS (National)

Agricultural Sales – Entrepreneurship: Skyler Glenn, Scott City

Sponsored by Farmway Coop, Inc. (State) and Monsanto (National)

Agricultural Sales – Placement
: Megan Lofton, Southeast of Saline

Sponsored by Kansas Grain Sorghum Commission (State) and Fastenal (National)

Agricultural Services
: Kenton Blevins, Doniphan West
Sponsored by Farm Credit Associations of Kansas (State) and TransCanada (National)

Beef Production – Entrepreneurship: Jake Ohlde, Linn

Sponsored by Schu-Lar Herefords, LLC (State) and Bayer Animal Health and Nasco Division – Nasco International, Inc. (National)

Beef Production – Placement: Esther McCabe, Fredonia

Sponsored by McPherson County Feeders (State) and Midwest PMS (National)

Dairy Production – Entrepreneurship: Austin Schmitz, Axtell

Sponsored by Nutrition Physiology Company, LLC (State)

Dairy Production – Placement: Bryce Joonas, Linn

Sponsored by Kansas Dairy Commission (State) and Kuhn North America (National)

Diversified Agricultural Production: AJ Carlson, Clay Center

Sponsored by Triangle H Grain & Cattle Company (State) and C. F. Industries, Inc. and J.R. Simplot Company (National)

Diversified Crop Production – Entrepreneurship: Austin Durst, Washington County

Sponsored by Kansas Corn Commission (State) and CHS (National)

Diversified Crop Production – Placement
: Zachary Foster, Labette County

Sponsored by Kansas Crop Improvement Association (State) and National Crop Insurance Services (National)

Diversified Horticulture
: Laura Rush, Doniphan West

Sponsored by Hummert International (State) and Nationwide Insurance Foundation (National)

Diversified Livestock Production: MaKayla LaRue, Erie

Sponsored by McPherson County Feeders (State) and Tractor Supply Company and Wahl Clipper Corporation (National)

Environmental Science and Natural Resource Management: Dayton Allen, Mission Valley
Sponsored by Midwest Ford Dealers (State) and The Mosaic Company (National)

Equine Science – Entrepreneurship: Casey Adams, Chapman

Sponsored by Zenger Management (State) and Land O’Lakes Purina Feed and Keystone Steel & Wire – Red Brand (National)

Equine Science – Placement: Eli Mangels, Holcomb

Sponsored by United Mosquito and Fly Control, LLC (State) and Cargill and Tractor Supply Company (National) 

Fiber and/or Oil Crop Production: Garrett Strickland, Labette County

Sponsored by Kansas Soybean Commission (State) and Bunge North America (National)

Forage Production
: Andrew Walck, Holcomb
Sponsored by Kansas Forage and Grassland Council, Inc. (State) and Claas of America, Inc. and Animal Health International, Inc. (National)

Forest Management and Products
: Kyle Anderson, Chapman

Sponsored by Barbara A. Derrick in honor of Doyle Derrick (State) and John Deere (National)

Goat Production: Lindsey Pease, Chetopa

Sponsored by Riffel Family Show Goats and Dreamland Farms (State) and Land O’Lakes Purina Feed (National)

Grain Production – Entrepreneurship: Emily Harris, Abilene

Sponsored by Kansas Wheat Commission (State)

Grain Production – Placement
: Ryan Pachta, Wamego
Sponsored by Kansas Wheat Commission (State)

Home and/or Community Development
: Jay Brintnall, Hiawatha

Sponsored by Seitz Gift Fruit, Inc. (State) and Carhartt, Inc. (National)

Nursery Operations
: Hannah Anderson, Newton

Sponsored by Lawrence Landscape (State)

Outdoor Recreation
: Morgan Hammel, Clay Center

Sponsored by Mr. Larry Lyder (State) and Yamaha Motor Company USA (National)

Poultry Production
: Alyssa James, Paola

Sponsored by Cal-Maine Foods Inc. (State) and
 Tractor Supply Company and Tyson Foods, Inc. (National)

Sheep Production: Corbin Greene, Rock Hills

Sponsored by Harris Show Lambs (State)

Small Animal Production and Care
: Austin Egbert, Girard

Sponsored by The Charles Kerr Family & Farms (State) and Tractor Supply Company (National)

Specialty Animal Production: Courtney Hoover, Rock Creek

Sponsored by Prairie School Farms (State)

Swine Production – Entrepreneurship: Jacob Rutledge, Mission Valley

Sponsored by Kansas Pork Association (State) and LA-CO Markal and Tyson Foods, Inc. (National)

Swine Production – Placement: Heidi Jirak, Oakley

Sponsored by Kansas Pork Association (State) and Kemin (National)

Turf Grass Management: David Boxman, Arkansas City

Sponsored by Sod Shop Inc. and Mike & Jodi Guetterman (State) and John Deere (National)

Vegetable Production
: Shelby Bargmann, Marysville

Sponsored by Mr. Shawn Turner (State) and
 Tractor Supply Company and Wilbur-Ellis Company (National)

Veterinary Science
: Cortney Parry, Holton

Sponsored by Kansas Veterinary Medical Association (State) and American Veterinary Medical Association (National)

Wildlife Production and Management
: Colten Bryant, Buhler

Sponsored by Kansas Wild Turkey Federation (State) and Land O’Lakes Purina Feed (National) 

No comments:

Post a Comment